Prior to the adoption of Ord. 21467 on 10/01/2012, Section 10-34 read as follows.

    (a)    The committee shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the city council.   At least five (5) of the wards shall be represented on the committee.    Each member shall be a qualified voter and resident of the City of Columbia, shall serve without compensation and shall not be a paid officer or employee of the city. The committee shall include members who are experienced in the fields of communications, citizenship or management of not-for-profit organizations.

    (b)     Appointments shall be made for terms ending on December 31.  The first appointments made shall be for staggered terms as follows: Three (3) members for terms expiring on December 31, 2008 and four (4) members for terms expiring on December 31, 2009.  Thereafter, appointments shall be for two (2) years. Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for unexpired terms only.


(Ord. No. 19853, § 1, 3-17-08; Ord. No. 20618, § 1, 5-3-10)