Prior to the adoption of Ord. 17127 on 01/07/2002, Section 12-17 read as follows.

    (a) The commission shall elect a chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary from among its members and create and fill such other offices as it may determine. The term of such elective officers shall be for one (1) year.

    (b) The commission shall meet periodically as necessary. The chairperson shall preside at all meetings, but in the absence of the chairperson or such person's inability to preside at any meeting, the vice-chairperson shall preside. Four (4) members shall constitute a quorum at any meeting.

    (c) The commission shall adopt rules and procedures for the conduct and transaction of its business and shall keep a record of its proceedings.

    (d) The members of the commission shall serve, without compensation, for the terms of their appointments and until their successors are appointed.

    (e) Any commission member having three (3) unscheduled absences without good cause within a period of one (1) year, or who shall be absent from three (3) consecutive regular meetings without consent of the chairperson or person acting in such chairperson's stead, shall automatically forfeit such office, and the chairperson shall promptly notify the city council through the city clerk of such vacancy.

    (f) Each member shall receive training in mediation techniques within one (1) year of the member's appointment to the commission.

(Ord. No. 13194 § 2, 12-16-91)