Section 12A-176 Illegal discharges.

    (a)    Except as provided in subsection (b), it shall be unlawful for any person to discharge or cause to be discharged into the municipal separate storm sewer system or into any water course any material other than storm water.

    (b)    The following discharges are exempt from the discharge prohibitions established by this article:

        1.    Waterline flushing or other potable water sources;

        2.    Landscape irrigation or lawn watering;

        3.    Diverted stream flows;

        4.    Rising groundwater;

        5.    Groundwater infiltration;

        6.    Uncontaminated pumped groundwater;

    7.    Foundation or footing drains (excluding active groundwater de-watering systems);

        8.    Crawlspace pumps, air conditioning condensation;

        9.    Springs;

        10.    Non-commercial washing of vehicles;

        11.    Natural riparian habitat or wetland flows;

    12.    Swimming pools (if de-chlorinated -- less than 1 ppm chlorine);

        13.    Fire fighting activities;

        14.    Other water not containing pollutants;

    15.    Discharges specified by the director as necessary to protect public health and safety;

    16.    Dye testing if notification is given to the director before the test; and

    17.    Any non-storm water discharge permitted under an NPDES permit, waiver or waste discharge order issued to the discharger and administered under the authority of the Environmental Protection Agency, provided that the discharger is in full compliance with all requirements of the permit, waiver or order and other applicable laws and regulations, and provided that written approval has been granted for any discharge to the municipal separate storm sewer system.

(Ord. No. 18297, § 1, 11-1-04)

(Ord. 18297, Added, 11/01/2004)