Prior to the adoption of Ord. 17658 on 04/21/2003, Section 17-17.1 read as follows.

    (a) The commission shall elect annually, at the first meeting in June, a chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary. The secretary may be an employee of the city.

    (b) Where there is a vacancy in any elected office, the commission shall elect a new officer to serve until the next regular annual election. The new officer shall have been appointed a member of the commission, with the exception of the secretary, who may be an employee of the city. Should the chairperson and vice-chairperson both be absent, the members present shall select a member previously appointed to the commission by the council to serve as chairperson for that meeting.

(Ord. No. 10868, § 1, 1-20-86)