Section 18-36 Police retirement board--Memberships; terms; compensation.

    (a)     The police retirement board is hereby established . The board shall consist of five (5)   members, two (2) of whom shall be members of the police department, two (2) of whom shall be registered voters and residents of the city. The chief of police shall be an ex officio, nonvoting member of the board.

    (b)     The police members of the board  shall be elected by a majority vote of the covered police  employees for terms of two (2) years.

    (c)     The citizen members shall be appointed by the city council for two-year terms .   Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for unexpired terms only.   The citizen members shall be chosen from applicants who are not employees of the city.

    (d)     No board  member shall receive any compensation for service, although reasonable expenses of members shall be reimbursed in the same manner as provided for reimbursement of council expenses.

    (e)     Members shall serve until their successors are appointed.

     (f)      The board shall elect a chair from its voting members.

(Code 1964, § 9.1890; Ord. No. 12868, § 1, 2-4-91; Ord. No. 018160, § 1, 7-6-04)

(Ord. 018160, Amended, 07/06/2004, Prior Text)