Prior to the adoption of Ord. 018160 on 07/06/2004, Section 18-36 read as follows.

    (a)     The police retirement board is hereby established plan (PRP) and fund (PRF) shall be administered by the council and director of finance under the review of and advice by the police retirement board (PRB). The board shall consist of four (4) five (5) members, two (2) of whom shall be salaried members of the police department, two (2) of whom shall be registered voters and residents of the city. The chief of police shall be an ex officio, nonvoting member of the board.

    (b)     The police members of the PRB board shall be elected by a majority vote of the covered police employees of their department for terms of two (2) years.

    (c)     The citizen members shall be appointed by the city council for two-year terms and shall serve at their pleasure.  Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for unexpired terms only.  The citizen members shall be chosen from applicants who are not employees of the city. The members shall be appointed for full staggered two-year terms.

    (d)     No PRB board member shall receive any compensation for service, although reasonable expenses of members shall be reimbursed in the same manner as provided elsewhere for reimbursement of council expenses.

    (e)     Members shall serve until their successors are appointed.

    (f)    The board shall elect a chair from its voting members.

(Code 1964, § 9.1890; Ord. No. 12868, § 1, 2-4-91)