Prior to the adoption of Ord. 17850 on 09/15/2003, Section 19-101 read as follows.

    (a)     All overtime eligible city employees assigned to second, third, split shift or rotating relief shifts shall be paid a shift differential of sixty-five cents ($0.65) per hour. Employees regularly scheduled to work three (3) or more different shift schedules each pay period shall be paid the shift differential for all shifts.

    (b) All classified employees regularly scheduled for second or third shift work will receive shift differential for all authorized paid absences.

    (c) Shift work generally starting on or after 2 p.m. but before 10 p.m. is considered second or "afternoon" shift. Work assignments generally starting on or after 10 p.m. but before 6 a.m. are considered third or "midnight" shift.

    (d) Employees eligible for shift differential who work overtime over the course of the pay period shall receive overtime pay based on salary plus shift differential times one and one-half (1.5).

    (e) Part time or temporary employees are not eligible for shift differential pay.

    (f) Employees not normally eligible for shift differential who work overtime into another shift shall not receive shift differential in addition to normal overtime remuneration.

(Code 1964, § 22.635; Ord. No. 9936, § 1, 9-19-83; Ord. No. 10514, § 1, 4-1-85; Ord. No. 13114, § 1, 9-16-91; Ord. No. 14208 § 1, 9-19-94; Ord. No. 14984, § 1, 9-16-96; Ord. No. 15355, § 1, 9-15-97; Ord. No. 15754, § 1, 9-21-98; Ord. No. 16191, § 1, 9-20-99)