Prior to the adoption of Ord. 18853 on 01/03/2006, Section 2-232 read as follows.

    The commission on cultural affairs shall be composed of twelve (12) members, appointed by the city council. Four (4) members shall have significant knowledge and demonstrated interest in one or more areas of the arts, including music, dance, literature, visual arts, theater, folk arts, media arts, design and arts education. Two (2) members shall be from the business and professional community, one of which shall be from a business or professional office in the special business district. Two (2) members shall be involved in elementary or secondary education. One member shall be a lay person with no specialized knowledge in the arts. No more than three (3) members shall reside in the same ward. The initial appointments to the commission shall be equally divided among one, two and three-year terms. Thereafter, aAppointments shall be for terms of three (3) years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for unexpired terms only. Terms shall begin on November 1. No member shall serve more than two (2) consecutive full three-year terms. Members shall serve without compensation. and At least nine members shall be qualified voters of the city. The city manager shall appoint a staff liaison to work with the commission.

(Ord. No. 13971 §§ 1--2, 2-21-94; Ord. No. 14801 § 1, 3-18-96)