Prior to the adoption of Ord. 15790 on 10/19/1998, Section 2-252 read as follows.

    The commission shall meet at the call of the chairman as is necessary to perform the duties established herein. A quorum for the transaction of business shall consist of not less than five (5) eight (8) members. The commission shall elect from its members a chairman, vice-chairman and a secretary. The chairman shall preside at all meetings, and in the absence of the chairman or the his inability of the chair to preside at any meeting, the vice-chairman shall preside. The secretary shall keep a permanent record of the proceedings of the commission and forward a report of such proceedings to the city council. The commission shall establish its own rules and procedures. The members appointed shall serve for the terms of their appointments, and shall continue as such until their successors are appointed and qualified, and each shall serve without compensation. Any commission member having three (3) unscheduled absences without just cause within a period of one year, or who shall be continuously absent from meetings for any reason for a period of four (4) consecutive months (when regular meetings have been held in such four (4) months) without prior city council consent, shall automatically forfeit his the office. It shall be the duty of the chairman of the commission to promptly notify the city council of the vacancy.

(Code 1964, § 2.2370)