Section 2-529 Composition; compensation; terms; vacancies.

    (a)    The commission shall consist of nine (9) members that are designated as the “coordinating committee.”  The commission may also include up to five (5) resource members as defined below, and liaison members as defined below. The majority of members of both the coordinating committee and resource members shall be qualified voters residing within the City of Columbia. Two members of the coordinating committee shall be residents of Boone County, not residing within the city limits of Columbia. The members of the commission should, to the extent practicable, reflect a broad cross section of the community.  “Liaison members” are nonvoting members of the commission who are appointed by the commission to help with outreach to the community or to communicate with identified citizen groups that are assisting with visioning, and to otherwise work with the commission on public education and outreach. “Resource members” are non voting members of the commission and are appointed by the coordinating committee to help in the work of the commission and share their expertise in one or more substantive areas such as, but not limited to, data collection, fundraising, intergovernmental cooperation, management, or process design.

    (b)    The coordinating committee shall be appointed by the city council following the nominating and application process set forth in Sec. 2-530 below. All members of the commission shall serve without compensation.

    (c)    Members of the coordinating committee shall serve for a term of three (3) years, except as otherwise provided below in relation to initial terms, and until their successors are appointed and qualified. The first three (3) members appointed to the coordinating committee shall serve for five (5) years, the second two (2) members appointed shall serve for four (4) years ,  the third two (2) members shall serve for three (3) years  and the final two members shall serve for two (2) years .  Thereafter, each new member of the coordinating committee shall be appointed for three (3) years or until a successor has been appointed. Resource members shall serve for two (2) year terms and liaison members shall serve for one (1) year terms. Members whose terms expire may be reappointed for successive terms.

    (d)    Vacancies in any coordinating committee position shall be filled by the city council. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term only. The council shall as near as possible appoint someone with similar qualifications to fill a vacated seat.

(Ord. No. 20081, § 1, 10-6-08; Ord. No. 20161, § 1, 1-5-09)

(Ord. 20161, Amended, 01/05/2009, Prior Text; Ord. 20081, Added, 10/06/2008)