Prior to the adoption of Ord. 022077 on 06/02/2014, Section 20-37 read as follows.

     (a)     The commission shall consist of nine (9) members appointed by the council for staggered terms of five (5) four (4)  years. Two (2) Three (3) members shall be appointed annually for terms beginning on the first day of June, except in each fifth year, when only one member shall be so appointed.  All members serving on the commission on June 2, 2014 shall complete such member’s existing term.  Thereafter, the term of each member shall be four (4) years, provided that, in order to maintain staggered terms, one member whose current term expires in June 2015 shall be reassigned to a three (3) year term expiring in June 2018 and thereafter to subsequent four (4) year terms as provided herein.

     (b)     The city manager shall designate the director of an administrative department as consultant and advisor to the commission but such person shall not be a member of the commission. The members of the commission shall be qualified voters, residents of the city at least one year immediately prior to the date of their appointment, and shall hold no other office or position in the city administration. Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for unexpired terms only. All members shall serve without pay.    A member shall serve for up to one (1) month after the expiration of the member’s term if no successor has been appointed.

(Code 1964, § 19.010; Ord. No. 9958, § 1, 10-3-83; Ord. No. 15435, § 1, 11-3-97; Ord. No. 15762, § 1, 9-21-98; Ord. No. 19080, § 1, 6-19-06)